State and Regional Highway Safety Information

Highway Traffic Safety by States and Regions

The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) designates all 50 states and commonwealths as well as, Guam, the Pacific Islands, Mariana and Virgin Islands, Puerto Rico and others represented by U.S. traffic systems, in state groupings under 10 regions, as seen in the map below.

The Governors’ Highway Safety Association (GHSA) includes links to the highway safety offices of all 50 states, U.S. territories, the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico. The GHSA also maintains a list of State Highway Safety Showcases.

safety graphic

NAWHSL Information, State and Regional Contacts

National Association Of Women Highway Safety Leaders, Inc. is working nationwide to prevent and reduce deaths and injuries on our Nation’s roadways. Information, Regional Representatives, Board/Directors, State Representatives, programs, history  and more can be found at:

National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) Regions

  • Region 1:  Massachusetts, Maine, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, and Vermont
  • Region 2: Connecticut, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, New York, Puerto Rico and Virgin Islands
  • Region 3: Delaware, District of Columbia, Kentucky, Maryland, North Carolina, Virginia, and West Virginia
  • Region 4: Alabama, Florida, Georgia, South Carolina, and Tennessee
  • Region 5: Illinois, Indiana, Ohio, Michigan, Minnesota, and Wisconsin
  • Region 6: Louisiana, Mississippi, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Texas, and Indian Nations
  • Region 7: Arkansas, Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, and Nebraska
  • Region 8: Colorado, Nevada, North Dakota, South Dakota, Utah, and Wyoming
  • Region 9: Arizona, California, Hawaii, and Pacific Territories
  • Region 10: Alaska, Idaho, Oregon, Montana, and Washington

Links to State Highway Safety Offices and Programs

Scroll to Top